Post 44 – Conversations with Sumayya

Author’s Note:

Heyy you🙌🙌

So you probably were not expecting another post this soon. Neither was I but I think you deserve it. Wouldn’t you agree? 

So enjoy 😚

Remember to seize this moment, because if not now then when?

-misscarpediem



As I walked back to the car with Dante, I felt a little queasy. I dismissed it as stress – stress does this to me sometimes. I’d feel better in a little while.

The next place I visited was the bridal boutique. I wanted to make sure everything was going smoothly with the wedding dress. Thankfully, the alterations were in progress. The last fitting would be tomorrow – literally the day before the wedding. This was going to be cutting it close but ‘What to do’.

I then stopped to pick up my dress for the wedding from my dressmaker and to pick up flowers for tonight’s get together. Lastly I stopped at a restaurant to pick up lunch for my mum and everyone at home who was helping out. If I know my mum, they’ve all probably been working the whole day without eating.

Having a driver slash bodyguard was proving to be quite handy. And to be honest, Mr Bodyguard was easy to be around. He wasn’t chatty which was good, I didn’t have to bother keeping a conversation. The only downside was that he was always around and he was very observant but that was the ‘slash bodyguard’ part of the job description.

I then headed straight to my mum’s house to help out with tonight’s prep and to take lunch of course. Dante was to stay outside after helping me with the parcels because I refused to have him watching me in my mum’s house. I was safe here – it was my mum’s house for goodness’ sake.

At the house though, I realised that Aunty Firoza did not need my help. My mum must have been an events planner in her previous life or something, but everything was on point and going smoothly .The tents had been pitched over the whole backyard. Everything was in place and the catering was on its way with food and desserts. I guess I shouldn’t have expected anything less.

Why Summaya had chosen a pink theme, I don’t know. But my mum had managed to make the pink theme into something classy by bringing in some gold. The pink wasn’t everywhere and the shade of pink was not too ‘in your face’ at all. And then there was a hint of gold detail everywhere you looked. It was all so stunning.

Table Deco

I saw my friend staring at the garden in disbelief. She had been at my mum’s home since the morning trying to help out with as much as she could. She was grateful for everything my mum was doing for her.

“Your mum is amazing.” Summaya said in awe when she saw me.

It was clear that my friend still couldn’t fathom all that was happening. And I don’t blame her. From calling your wedding off one moment to having it back on the next moment. These past few days have been a rollercoaster for her.

 “You can say that again hun.” I said agreeing. “I brought lunch, come on let’s eat.” I said pulling her towards the kitchen.

As we ate I gave her 411 on the cake. I hoped that it would be everything she wanted and I wanted to make sure I wasn’t messing up.

“The cake sounds perfect. I trust you” Summaya said. “It’s her I don’t trust. And BTW since when did you and witchy witch become besties? I missed that part of the story” she asked raising an eyebrow.

So I explained all the twisted lies I was caught in and of course how I expected to get myself out of this mess by proving her wrong.

“You know I love you right, best friend?” Summaya said calmly after hearing me out.

I nodded slowly.

“But you’re an idiot, my dear friend.” She said plainly and then added, “How did you get so mixed up in her lies. You’re falling right into her trap. And why, oh why, did you not just tell me about this sooner. I myself would have told Mohammed the truth. Hello? I was there when it happened.

I looked at her and realised what an idiot I actually was. Whatever proof she had against me, could have been disproven by Summaya. I hadn’t even though about it. Why did I have to try to solve every problem on my own. I wasn’t alone in this.

Summaya saw the realisation on my face and with that she started scrolling through her contact list to look for Mohammed’s number to call him.

“This all ends now.” She said as she was scrolling.

“Waaiiitt…” I said quickly cutting the call before it dialled. “You need a wedding cake still. And no Ayesha equals no wedding cake.”

“I’ll find someone else to make the cake”, Summaya said starting to dial again.

“Your wedding is the day after tomorrow. There’s no way anyone is going to take on that order and you know it Summaya. There’s no need to tell Mohammed now. We’ll tell him about it after the wedding please. I couldn’t forgive myself if you didn’t have your perfect day you’ve been dreaming about.” I said.

Summaya looked at me defeated and I knew that I had won.

“You’re a saint, do you know that? You’re so selfless.” She said full of emotion.

“First I’m an idiot, now I’m a saint. Make up your mind friend.”I said laughing and giving her a hug.

I had a way of getting justice for all Ayesha’s lies and I was happier than ever right now. We all get what we deserve – sooner or later. And that was the truth.

2 thoughts on “Post 44 – Conversations with Sumayya

  1. As salaamu alaykum….love your blog and writing style you are a really talented author glad to have you writing again!

    Sometimes while writing we use phrases that are commonly used while speaking….i think we should be more aware of what we say while speaking and writing that our utterances do not go against our fundemental beliefs as muslims….i feel the line ‘my mum must have been an events planner in her other life or something’ totally goes against our fundamental beliefs and even tho i know it was not meant literally and it was just used lightly sometimes we take a thing lightly where as by Allah it is not.I felt very strongly about it hence the comment.

    Maaf if i have offended you in any way that was not my intention….may Allah guide us and make us his beloveds. Ameen

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You have not offended me at all, I really do appreciate it 😊 I completely understand where you are coming from and what you mean. You are right, in my attempt to make my character more light hearted, I’ve said something which I shouldn’t have. I’ll try to be more aware of the way I phrase ideas.
      Jazakallah for the comment 💜💜

      Like

Leave a comment